Proof Positivity: Native American Rights


Digg!
Native Americans are not subjected to the same laws as most Americans. I think it is fair to say that Native Americans have had a bum rap. First, a bunch of people from Spain, England, and where ever else came to “The New World.” Next, they exposed Native Americans to diseases that they had no immunity to. In American text books they go on and on about how vicious tribes were because of scalping. They spend a good portion of the focus on this but it was someone else that began the scalping.
Christopher Columbus is given credit for discovering America but again that credit was taken away by the first people here, Native Americans . The speculation is that Native Americans are Asian. I’m inclined to believe this theory. I am of Native American decent and I look Asian. My eyes are slanted in a way that a typical caucasian wouldn’t have. My eyes are the first thing people notice about me because they are unusual.
Land was taken from the founders of this country. This was the only way to create peace. I call this a big government action much like what is happening in my neck of the woods at this moment. A woman just lost her home to put a Walgreen’s up and she can not fight it because laws were passed stating that the business can take it away. I’m not so sure that we are free to pursue life, liberty, and happiness any more.
Native Americans were forced to learn English . Isn’t this starting to sound a bit familiar? This country is built on diversity yet it seems to strive to remove the diversity of language.
Hitler looked up to America for placing Native Americans in reservations. The conditions in reservations are poor not even fit for agriculture. ” Approximately half of the nation’s 2,500,000 Native Americans live on reservations throughout the United States, “living in conditions that are four to five decades behind the majority of Americans” Native American Aid.
How can I help?
Go to National Relief Charities “National Relief Charities (NRC) provides program services that benefit Native Americans throughout the United States. Our mission is “To help Native American people improve the quality of their lives by providing opportunities for them to bring about positive changes in their communities.” “
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
“Native Sisters Help Native American Women Overcome Obstacles to Breast Cancer Screening”
Amnesty International “Human rights are basic rights and freedoms that all people are entitled to regardless of nationality, sex, national or ethnic origin, race, religion, language, or other status.”
3 Responses

  1. I’m part American Indian, which is why I chose my Pocohontas avatar, so I just wanted to thank you for posting this. It’s very interesting that Hitler looked up to the US and perhaps got one one his ideas from them.

  2. Pocahontas is one of my great grandmothers. Just goes to show be careful what you do it will come back and bite you.

  3. Natives continue to be disenfranchised and marginalized. It is disgusting. We all forget that all land is Native land and we are the visitors.

Comments are closed.

