Proof Positivity: Last Chance

10-1-2008-24712-pm28 Good Morning!  Coffee in  hand and a few neat things for you to know.  This is the last opportunity you will have to email President elect Obama before he has an email address change.   Also Congress.org lets you know or find out what is going on in America.

 

For all of my readers who have today to celebrate those who serve I hope your veteran’s day is a wonderful one.  “Lincoln’s words became the VA motto in 1959
with the words, “To care for him who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and orphan.” President Lincoln stated the government’s duty to care for those who are hurt or died defending our Country.”  Being a mommy is very educational.  My son’s homework forces me to learn things I would not have otherwise looked for.  The fact that my son gets far better grades than I did makes it all worth while.

Want to get a new cell phone but don’t know what to do with the old one?  Why not donate it?  What will happen with your phone? It will be wiped clean of everything but one number 911.  This is a domestic violence organization and your phone will not be used for social calls only emergency calls.

Is you coffee pot ready?  It is time for the morning news.

I Believe I Can Fly

714

 

What would it be like to be a child in a wheelchair?  On November 16 Nickelodeon will premier “The View From My Chair.”  

 

Four kids invite you to their world.  At at 9:00 p.m. (ET/PT) you also get to see the kids with Emmy Award winning journalist Linda Ellerbee as they go on a Zero-Gravity flight in which they achieve weightlessness.

 

“A friend of mine who has used a wheelchair for many years reminded me that the problem is not the chair — it’s gravity.  So we thought it might be fun to go on an adventure where we could leave gravity behind,” said Ellerbee.”

Juan, from Tampa, Fla., who has muscular dystrophy, says of his life, “When I first started to be in the chair … people started staring at me.  I started to feel kind of weird and I said, ‘Why are they staring at me?’ But I’ve never been ashamed of being in a wheelchair.”

Nia, from Bridgeport, Conn., who’s in a wheelchair because of a spinal cord injury suffered in a car accident when she was four-years-old, has a love-hate relationship with her chair.  “My chair is both my friend and my enemy.  It is one, my friend because it’s helping me get around and it helps me do things; and two, it is my enemy because it just like taunts me there saying, ‘Ha ha, you can’t stand.'”  She added, “I do believe that there is going to be a cure for me, and if there’s not, then there really is a reason why I’m in this chair and I’m just gonna live my life in this chair.”

Chase, from Smyrna, Tenn., who has Cerebral Palsy, says, “I go bowling, I go out to eat, I go to the movies, I go to the mall.  I can get around as much as regular people can get around, just in a different way … Sometimes I imagine what it would be like to walk, when people say they pray for me, and I think about going to heaven and being able to walk.”

Wensday, from Dover, Arkansas, who was diagnosed with Spina Bifida, says, “I’m the only kid in my school that’s in a wheelchair, and when there’s a new student at my school, I always try to talk to them so that way they don’t jump to conclusions before they can really think about what’s wrong with me.  And then they see me with my friends and they see, ‘Oh, she’s regular.'”

Also, I would like to highlight a few organizations who deal with wheelchair donation. 

National Council for Support of Disability Issues 

Wheelchair Foundation

Free Wheelchair Mission

