Proof Positivity: I Had No Clue

10-1-2008-24712-pm215I had no clue I recieved so much spam.  When this site was on blogger I hardly saw anything.  Now my dohickey has caught 10 spam.  I must be reaching a wider audience.  I need to go through and get rid of some of my catagories and stuff so I’m not a spammy Sammy too.  All this blogging stuff is a pain when you switch platforms.  I didn’t even know I had so many catagories or tags. 

We have another award!   This is a meme and I’m not real found of those but this does come from Kat at Candles, crafts, and Whatnot lemonadeaward1  Sorry Kat, I won’t be doing the meme part.  What this award means to me is another opportunity to make a difference.  If you take a look at Alex’s Lemonade Stand you will understand what I mean.  Alex was a little girl who was very ill with cancer.  When life hands you lemons you make lemonade.  That is exactly what Alex did.  She created a lemonade stand to fund cancer research and her parents continues with her dream.  Alex knew that even if she didn’t survive she may be able to help another.  Alex passed away because of the cancer but her dream and memory lives on forever. 

 

Disney Magic And NASA Join Forces

 

NASA is looking for a new name for it’s new Mars space rover and NASA is looking to children to name it.  Mars Science Laboratory rover  is scheduled for launch in 2009.

 

The contest began on November 18th and will end Jan. 25, 2009.  It is open to students 5 to 18 years old who attend a U.S. school and are enrolled in the current academic year. To enter the contest, students will submit essays explaining why their suggested name for the rover should be chosen.

 

Disney will provide prizes to students submitting winning essays, including a trip to NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., where the rover is under construction. The grand prize winner will have an opportunity to place a signature on the spacecraft and take part in the history of space exploration.

“Mars exploration has always captured the public imagination,” said Mark Dahl, program executive for the Mars Science Laboratory at NASA Headquarters in Washington. “This contest will expand our ability to inspire students’ interest in science and give the public a chance to participate in NASA’s next expedition to Mars.”

Disney Pixar’s Wall-E will appear in conjunction with NASA online.

“All of us at Disney are delighted to be working with NASA in its educational and public outreach efforts to teach school children about space exploration, robot technology and the universe in which they live,” said Mark Zoradi, president of Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures Group. “WALL-E is one of the most lovable and entertaining characters that Pixar has ever created, and he is the perfect spokes-robot for this program.” 

Contest information

