Proof Positivity: Thanksgiving Around The Corner

me1Thanksgiving is on Thursday.  My family will have turkey, stuffing, green beans, and who knows what else.  My mom’s turkey is the best.  This isn’t just my personal opinion this is fact.  My mom’s turkey is so moist it melts in your mouth.  We don’t carve the turkey it falls off the bone.  The turkey cooks all night and by 12:00 PM perfection.  It may not be the most beautiful but it makes up for that in taste.  Anyhow if this is your fist time with the meal there is help for you.

 

If you could spend $20 on water for the rest of your life would you do it?  With Universal Giving you can do just that.  You can donate $20 and it will go for safe drinking water. You could give a month of care to five orphaned babies or give health back to a child.  the possibilities are endless. “UniversalGiving allows you to shop for gifts in a meaningful way this holiday season.”

 

Stumbleupon has given me the opportunity to view new sites that I would not otherwise view.  I read a story about two high school boys that sold junk food at school and donated the profit to a hospital.  The person who “discovered” the site had it listed as strange/ bizarre.  Is it truly strange that kids would want to do more to help others?   All I have ever seen in my lifetime is young people wanting to make a difference.    When I was in City Year there were 1,000 City Year members that is only a small fraction of the young people who do Americorps programs.  Since 1993, more than 540000 people have served in Americorps programs.   That group of people don’t include those who do it without the chance of getting a living stipend of a college scholarship.  It’s true that it all starts out as a one sided kind of deal.  When I was involved I went soley for the scholarship.  I didn’t care about the rest so much.  By the end of my two years serving I fell in love with community service and making a difference.  The fact that someone young wants to change the world doesn’t surprise me.  The fact that someone would find it bizarre surprises me. 

 

Community service has been getting more and more popular among youth.   When my own children reach an appropriate age I hope to be bringing them to soup kitchen during the holidays.  It’s important that the young has an opportunity to make a difference.  Leaders are born this way.  I want them to have the opportunity to find that they don’t have it so bad and they can help someone else by giving them the support they may need.  I do want to make this a family event so I need to be patient and wait until the youngest is 5 or 6.

 

More opportunities to give:

KIVA “The people you see on Kiva’s site are real individuals in need of funding – not marketing material. When you browse entrepreneurs’ profiles on the site, choose someone to lend to, and then make a loan, you are helping a real person make great strides towards economic independence and improve life for themselves, their family, and their community. Throughout the course of the loan (usually 6-12 months), you can receive email journal updates and track repayments. Then, when you get your loan money back, you can relend to someone else in need.”

City Year for those a little more well off you can sponsor a team to make a difference.  When I was a member the price tag was $100,000.   This pays for the living stipend and a whole lot of other things that an executive director would do a lot better job of explaining.  You could even get a team together to fund raise.

 

Making a difference doesn’t have to be an organization such as what’s listed above.  What if you really like art.  Go to your local art museum or one that you really enjoy and become a sponsor.  The money will go toward educating children about Monet, Georgia O’Keefe, and Picasso.

 

Go to a small community theatre and become a sponsor or make costumes.  Community theatres get very little money for what they do.

 

Read to a child. If you have no books there are a few sites you can go to:  at Big Universe you can read books for free.   You can read stories at Reading is Fundamental.  You can go to Starfall to learn how to read. 

 

Making a difference doesn’t have to cost a lot it just takes the kindness and giving of your heart.

