Proof Positivity: The Day Before

me3 Time to make the cheesecake, potato salad, pistachio pie, and mashed potatoes!  Turkey goes in the oven tonight!  Special breakfast this morning no school today pancakes with cherry pie filling!  The kids need milk I need coffee.   This is going to be a busy day for me.  I have a lot of work to do and little time to do it in.  I may need to go to my brothers to help my mom with the meal.  I have house cleaning and outfits to wear.  We dress up for the holidays.  In a few years Thanksgiving will change for us.  When my children are old enough we will be working in a kitchen for the holidays.  I feel that it’s important to teach my kids how to help others and even though we live below the poverty level for the United States we aren’t so bad off.  In a perfect society we would all be good neighbors and work together and help one another regardless of monetary status.   

 

If you wish to volunteer in a kitchen go here.  Go to the Yellow Pages and click on your state. 

 

Maybe you’re like me and your kids just aren’t old enough to go to a soup kitchen but they are old enough to send a card to our troops. 

Holiday Mail for Heroes
PO Box 5456holidaymail240tn
Capitol Heights, MD 20791-5456

It doesn’t matter what you think about the war.  These people need our support.

 

Know how to crochet?  How about making a nest for misplaced animals.

You can be tested to see if you would be a suitable kidney donor for a young girl.

You can say No! to violence against women.

Like to sew?  You can make a quilt for a newborn and send it to your local hospital.

 

The possibilities are endless. My family will be making the cards to send to our troops.  I think it’s a nice new tradition.

4 Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Hope the turkey was mmmmmmm…great!

  2. The turkey was wonderful as my mom’s usual. 🙂 I’ve eaten a lot of turkey and no one makes it as good as my mom. I hope you had a wonderful day. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for writing about Holiday Mail for Heroes! On behalf of my colleagues at Pitney Bowes and the American Red Cross I wanted to let you know we’ve surpassed the goal of delivering one million cards to US service members, veterans and military families. View the following video for more details and a personal message of thanks from all of us. We could not have done it without you!

  4. No, thank you. I continue to blog for this site because there are people in this world who want to do things for others. Those people need recognition for what they do. Holiday Mail for Heroes is a great initiative and it’s something that is affordable. What could be better than making a difference for a little bit of money. Thank you for an opportunity to blog positive.

Comments are closed.

