Proof Positivity: Good Deeds In The Air

me5One of the things I love about “tis the season is everyone seems a little more nice.  Things that people normally don’t do are a tradition.  It would be so wonderful if we all could take that first step to something wonderful like my friend Robin.

 

 Dare To Dream

By: robinj

My partner and I watched a program on CNN about everyday people making a different in the lives of others and after a while I began to become aware of the fact the only difference between me and them was they had taken the first step. Most of us sit back and look at these everyday heroes and think I could do that but there is always a ‘but’ that prevents us from taking the first step. But I do not have the time, but I do not have the money, but I do not have the skills and so forth those who step forward focus what they hope to achieve not what they cannot achieve. My partner and I decided to take a step we started with a small reachable goal to provide basic care packages to 100 women in shelters by the end of the year we gave our dream a name ironically ‘Dare to Dream’ and we set out to make hand decorated boxes with those words inscribed on each one. We then handed out the boxes to our friends and asked that they throw one small item in their grocery cart for the box each week there was no time line as to when the boxes had to filled. Now here is where the words of Mother Teresa come into effect ‘Small things done with great love will change the world’, I sent an email out to my friends hoping for their support and one person a social worker by profession picked up on our idea and was going to recommend to her agency that they start their own Dare to Dream project. So from a small act of loving kindness a ripple in the waters of humanity was created. If you are thinking of taking a small step towards an act of kindness do not think it has to be big or grand or involve thousands of people Mother Teresa took one dying man off the streets and look what that one act of random kindness started. A journey begins with a single step and a life may be changed because of it please take yours today.

 

You can also find Robin at:

I Spy With My Third Eye

The Guide To Life Blog

Keeping It Safe

 

Part of being positive is staying safe during the holidays.  Here are a few tips to keep you and your family safe this season:

  • Don’t smoke while you are tired if you fall asleep that can cause a fire.
  • Change the batteries in your fire alarm every six months.
  • If you have a baby don’t dry your babies clothes with fabric softeners.  Fabric softeners remove the fire resistance that your babies clothing has.
  • Don’t leave food unattended especially if you are cooking in oil at temperatures that are way too high.
  • Stapling or nailing through extension cords may damage the wire or insulation, which could lead to an electrical shock or fire.
  • Check packaging to decide the maximum number of strings of lights that may be linked together.
  • Turn off electrical light strings, candles, and decorations before leaving home or going to bed.
  • Use an ABC fire extinguisher.
  • If you have a live tree make sure you are giving it plenty of water.  A dry tree and lights=fire.
  • A fake tree should be flame retardant.
5 Responses

  1. “Dare to Dream” project was a beautiful thought. It only takes compassionate action to make a difference.

  2. Exactly my point! 🙂

  3. Love this post!

    What wonderful holiday spirit 🙂
    Hello from Speedcat

  4. Thank you. 🙂

  5. What a wonderful idea “Dare to Dream” is….
    I know what I’m going to do next year!
    Thanks for the idea,
    Take care,
    Kat

Comments are closed.

