Proof Positivity: Going On Vacation

me18 I will not be writing for Proof Positivity for the rest of the week.  I need to do a lot of family things such as make Christmas cookies, wrap Christmas presents and hide them, listen to Christmas music…  Speaking of  Christmas music here is my list of Christmas music that makes a difference:

Do They Know It’s Christmas Time For Band Aide  230px-liveaidlogoLive Aide  On July 13, 1985 a multi-venue rock music concert was held to raise funds for famine relief in Ethiopia.

Happy Christmas (War is Over)  This song was recorded by John Lennon in 1971 and was his reaction to Vietnam. 

We Are The World USA for Africa180px-usa_for_africa_logo_svg  Profits  went to the USA for Africa Foundation, which used them for the relief of famine and disease in Africa and specifically to 1984–1985 famine in Ethiopia.

USA for Africa also promoted Hands across America.  To be a part of the human chain you had to donate $10 to be a part of it approximately 7 million people held hands. The   money raised was used to fight hunger and homelessness in America.

Earth Song Is Micheal Jackson’s song geared toward treating our Earth better.  It’s not exactly a Christmas song but it is in the spirit of giving back to our planet what we have taken away from it.

 

Volunteering at a Soup Kitchen

732

On December 12, ScienceFirst staff members served food to more than 250 New Jersey residents in need.  The group spent over 3 hours at the soup kitchen, and all appreciated working for a company that let them take time out of their workday to help others. Besides serving the food, the group assisted with preparing the food, creating healthy portions, and communicating with those in need.

A soup kitchen is just one of many ways in which to make a difference.  I think I have finally thought of a way to incorporate community service for my own children.  Since I am making cookies anyway I think I’m going to take a box to Ronald McDonald House on Thursday.  I remember what it was like not being home after the birth of my son and all the people who donated food really helped out because we didn’t plan on being there.  So, cookies will be my gift that my children and I will share.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday.

