Proof Positivity: Homelessness

me2  Homelessness is a serious issue all over the world.    My own husband was kicked out by a family member he should have been able to trust.  He paid his rent but was still kicked out and the next thing he knew he was sleeping in a monestary.  Just because you’re homeless this doesn’t mean that you are mentally unstable or that you’re lazy.  

“We walk past them everyday, see them on the street and in doorways, we watch them on the Movie and on the news. When times are tough and recession hits their numbers increase, every country has them in varying numbers but not everyone cares.”  My friend Aussiecynic wrote a wonderful two part interview with a man named Matt who began a blog called Homeless Tales.  It’s a wonderful piece so head on over and Go Smell The Flowers.
 Go Tell Tales Part 1 Garden Special New Beginnings          Go Tell Tales Part 2 Garden Special New Beginnings

Another article I want to point out is from Imaniceperson “Momof3 writes “Yesterday I was shopping at Wal Mart and on the way out I saw a lady in the parking lot with a sign that read, “Mother of 3 Needs Help, electricity is shut off. Please help”.

 

We finally have a video camera and as soon as I know how to get video loaded into youtube we will be airing maybe once a week.  Video will be here soon woo-hoo!

$10,000 and I Do

Valentine’s day is one of the four most popular days to get a marriage proposal.  It also a day for the opportunity to win $10,000 for your wedding.  On average brides and grooms spend 20 percent of their wedding reception budgets on alcohol and bartender fees.

 “I Do with Mirassou” contest from Mirassou Winery, plus a trip to New York City for a one-on-one dream wedding planning session with a Brides.com editor gives the opportunity to cut a portion of the cost.

Rebecca Firszt of New York City states ”

When Brad and I told our friends and family that we’d gotten engaged, the most popular response was “Finally!” We met at a high school youth symphony rehearsal and started dating shortly thereafter. In college, Brad left school early to perform in the Buffalo Philharmonic. The long-distance relationship was so hard on us that Brad left his position to move back to NYC. It’s been a challenge to afford NYC rent while paying tuition for Brad to finish his degree. Our favorite date-night activity is catching a summer Philharmonic concert in Central Park and drinking Mirassou Merlot with an all-cheese dinner.

 

Nine years after we first met, Brad proposed to me underwater while scuba diving. We would love to have a beach ceremony and reception in Florida, where we’re both from. And if we’re fortunate enough to win this generous prize, we’ll serve enough cheese and Mirassou wine to keep our guests stuffed for days!”

800-Megawatt Clean Coal Power Plant

Consumers Energy announced today that it has revised the schedule for its new 800-megawatt clean coal unit and now expects it to be in operation in 2017.   The utility originally planned to have the plant available to serve customers in 2015.

 

The Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) review of the company’s applications for the plant’s environmental permits has taken nearly a year longer than originally expected. That delay already had caused Consumers Energy to re-evaluate the schedule for the plant, which it plans to build near Bay City.

 

The utility revised its schedule for the plant’s completion date after the MDEQ recently told the company it was putting a hold on issuing the draft environmental permits for the plant until it has completed an analysis of the need for the clean coal plant and alternatives.

 

John Russell, the president and chief operating officer of Consumers Energy, said the company remains committed to moving forward with the plant, despite the regulatory delay.

 

“We continue to believe that the best way to provide reliable and affordable power to Michigan’s families and businesses is with a balanced energy portfolio that includes renewable energy, energy efficiency, and new baseload generating plants,” Russell said.

 

Consumers Energy, the principal subsidiary of CMS Energy, provides natural gas and electricity to nearly 6.5 million of Michigan’s 10 million residents in all 68 Lower Peninsula counties.

Bringing Hope Home

Today, Golden Globe and Grammy Award winner and Oscar nominee Queen Latifah, Grammy award winning musician Wyclef Jean and New York/New Jersey radio personality and actress Angie Martinez kick off the ‘Bringing Hope Home’ bus tour in Newark to raise awareness about the foreclosure problems facing families and the resources available to help them avoid losing their homes.

 

Stops on the tour include a visit to a community-based development organization, a visit with a family facing foreclosure, tours of neighborhoods whose communities have been affected by concentrated foreclosure and a project that redevelops foreclosed homes into affordable housing. The tour will end with a roundtable discussion of community leaders who have seen the affects of foreclosure on the Newark community firsthand.

 

Queen Latifah says she can’t imagine the fear people must feel when they are faced with losing their home. “This is about helping families and saving communities,” she said. “Newark is my home town and I want people to know there are a number of resources out there to help them keep their home.”

 

The tour will highlight a number of community resources available to homeowners as well as national ones – including talking to your lender about refinancing options, meeting with a HUD-approved counselor in your area by logging onto the HUD website, or calling the Homeowner’s HopeTM Hotline at (888) 995-HOPE which provides free help to homeowners 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

 

The campaign will continue in 3 additional cities – Atlanta, Miami and Cleveland – and is being sponsored by the HOPE NOW alliance made up of non-profit counselors and mortgage industry participants committed to help as many homeowners as possible prevent foreclosure and stay in their home.

 

Faith Schwartz, HOPE NOW’s executive director says that people can’t just ignore the problem and hope it goes away. “The worst thing people can do when faced with problems making their mortgage payments is nothing. If you do nothing you will lose your home,” she said. “Half of all foreclosures happen to people who never asked for help. We’re here to tell them that help is just a phone call away.”

I Wish I Thought Of That

Inventor come up with some interesting things and some of them are so simple that I wish I thought of that.  Not this group of inventors though.  These guys are beyond me.

The National Inventors Hall of Fame has announced its 2009 class of inductees. In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the integrated circuit, this year’s class represents advances related to or enabled by integrated circuit technology.

   The 2009 class of inductees:

    LIVING
    *Martin M. (John) Atalla: MOS transistor
    * Alfred Y. Cho: Molecular beam epitaxy-MBE
    * Dov Frohman-Bentchkowsky: EPROM
    * George Heilmeier: Liquid crystal display
    * Larry Hornbeck: Digital micromirror device-DMD
    * John Macdougall, Ken Manchester: Ion implantation
    * Carver Mead: VLSI method for designing chips
    * Gordon Moore: Semiconductor production
    * Frank Wanlass: Complementary metal oxide semiconductor-CMOS

    POSTHUMOUS RECOGNITION
    *  Ross Freeman: Field programmable gate array-FPGA
    * Jean Hoerni: Planar process
    *Dawon Kahng: MOS transistor
    * Gordon Teal: Silicon transistor
    * Robert Widlar: Linear integrated circuits
“Virtually every electronic device in use today relies on advances in integrated circuit technology,” says Fred Allen, Vice President of Selection for the National Inventors Hall of Fame. “By honoring the accomplishments of this year’s inductees, we are acknowledging their contributions that have done no less than make our modern way of life possible.”

5 Responses

  1. Wow you are a powerhouse of information my friend!!! I am blown away. I loved reading about all of these. But I guess the homeless thing really touched my heart as that whole situation really moves me deeply to help and care. I feel it is a horribly misunderstood situation where people are perceived as lazy or crazy and often are neither. I get very protective of homeless people and thank you with all my heart for raising this issue here. It reminded me of something someone once said to me. But I think I will use the story as a post sometime about the homeless. Thank you thank you a million times for being SUCH an inspiration in my life. I am hugging you for it, beautiful Shirley.

  2. Me too Robin. I think the public view of homelessness irks me the most. In Cleveland, a homeless person once sat in the stairway of a church and he was literally kicked out in the dead of winter. A Cleveland winter is no joke. The weather is brutal and it can kill you. There is something wrong in this world when a homeless person can’t take sanctuary at a church.

    Long time ago, before I had kids and stayed home, there was a man digging in the garbage. I couldn’t just let him continue with it. I went in to a store that was close by and purchased him a salad with all the fixings. It was a huge salad and cost a lot of money for it. I gave it to the man digging in the garbage. Not five minutes later police officers were all over him for solicitation. He didn’t solicit anything. He didn’t ask I just simply gave and he was punished for it. There is something wrong with the world when giving is wrong.

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  5. Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂 🙂

Comments are closed.

