Proof Positivity: A Positive Editorial

Tony Robbins

I am going to be brutally honest here.  I was never a Tony Robbins fan.  In fact until the movie “Shallow Hal”  I didn’t even know who he was.  The name flew out of my head.  A few years after I saw “Shallow Hal”  I began to blog and I cyber met a blogger who adores Tony Robbins.  Having forgotten who he is I did what every good blogger does, I Googled.    Again, I put it all to the side until last week.  Last week changed my perspective.    I saw a video on his blog.  I now understand his motivation.  It’s the same as my own.   What motivates someone like him, what motivates someone like me is simply, to make a difference.

I can’t say everyone who has read this blog knows my story.  I’ll not talk about that here.  I have intentionally geared this for a younger crowd.  For the older crowd you can visit My Thoughts Always or My Habitat Home to get an idea of what I fight for.

When Tony Robbins was a kid his parents divorced.   He explains how the affected him in the video.

The real reason I’m telling you all of this is because of his cause.  You know me I’m all about causes.  I was brought to tears as he recants a childhood story about a Thanksgiving without.  I can’t imagine a Thanksgiving or Christmas without for my children.  That would tear me apart.

Even though my own family doesn’t have a whole lot of money we are so fortunate.  We have a roof , clothes, and my kids have food.  Some families don’t have these basic necessities not even for the holidays.  I don’t have money to donate but I have time to volunteer my time blogging in hopes that someone who does have money can help.

“The International Basket Brigade is built on a simple notion: one small act of generosity on the part of one caring person can transform the lives of hundreds. It takes only one light to dispel the darkness, and even just one basket or a few, to bring hope! A Basket Brigade takes place when one individual prepares one basket to personally deliver to a needy family or individual.

What began more than 30 years ago as Tony’s individual effort to feed families in need, has now grown into the Anthony Robbins Foundation’s International Basket Brigade, providing baskets of food and household items for an estimated 2 million people annually in countries all over the world. Throughout the year International Basket Brigade volunteers deliver food, clothing, and hope to those who need it most. The Foundation would be honored to have you become a part of this truly wonderful event.”

